Disney World: Planning

So, Disney World. I would say this is the most iconic amusement park in the world. An American staple, I wouldn’t necessarily go there in a heartbeat currently, because of Trump. Although, I’ve never been to a Disney theme park, and if I’m going to have to spend thousands to get to one (ridiculous, but it is magical how they get every last penny you may have brought), I’m going all out and travelling to “the best one” (apparently?). It may take several years (and several tens of thousands) to visit each Disney park in the world, but would be interesting to see the cultural differences between each one.

But, First. Disney World.

The planning is a daunting task in itself, along with paying for the venture for the whole family, the thoughts of paying for food, shopping, a Disney sweater (a MUST in my opinion, I was always so jealous of kids in my classes in elementary school who had them!). This seems like a nightmare of a vacation. Then, you hear about the queues. Oh my goodness. I downloaded the Disney World App, and look a brief look, and some rides seem rather decent for timing, around a 10-25 minute wait. However, popular rides you hear about, have massive lines. Around a ninety minute wait for just one ride. I’ve heard about all of these passes that can help you get to the ride sooner, but of course that costs more too. And you know there will be screaming children. Everywhere.

Why on earth would anyone want to go to Disney World?

Uhm, because their movies are amazing, if you’re like me, they’re a part of your childhood and most likely at one point or another, you probably wore a Disney costume for Halloween *dresses up as Cinderella 3 times in a row*.

And WHY am I going Spring 2019?

Well, I want to be Cinderella, Belle, Merida and Snow White (and let’s face it, every princess cause they’re a bunch of badasses).

So, what’s my big plans?

Probably too ambitious, impossible and not-at-all accomplishable within a 5 day period, but, I can always go back, right? I really want to go back when the park is 50, but that’s probably Mission Impossible. BUT, I could go once I am done university that spring…

Thoughts…. expensive thoughts…. $$$$

I am such a nerd, that I have now begun my research expedition. A lengthy Excel sheet and a determination to have the best Disney experience possible, and tailoring our visits to each park, specifically for adults. Growing up with Disney classics, like Cinderella, Snow White, Bambi; but also being the generation that saw movies like The Incredibles, Finding Nemo, Monsters Inc, Cars, etc. in theatres, I want to experience that Disney. Nostalgic Disney (while also enjoying the Frozen parts to. Let It Go haters, Let It Go).

Down below, compiled a list of rides and attractions that are definitely a must for myself, broken down by the main 4 parks of Disney World.

Magic Kingdom

Rides/Experiences:

Cinderella Castle

Country Bear Jamboree

Dumbo Flying Elephant

Enchanted Tales with Belle

Haunted Mansion

it’s a small world

Mad Tea Party

Monsters Inc Laugh Floor

Pirates Adventure

Seven Dwarfs Mine Train

Space Mountain

Under the Sea

 

Epcot

Agent P’s Adventure

Frozen Ever After

Impressions de France

The Seas with Nemo

Hollywood Studios

Muppet Vision 3D

Toy Story Mania!

Star Wars: Path of the Jedi

Animal Kingdom

Avatar Flight of Passage

Butterflies

DINOSAUR

It’s Tough Being a Bug!

Kilimanjaro Safaris

 

One of my favourite ways to decide how to choose between restaurants specifically, on vacation, or hotels, etc., is by browsing through Google Maps and reading reviews. Cliché, but it works! Even other blogs, websites can help with this too. Here’s a link to the Walt Disney World Map on Google to look up the reviews for yourself!

https://www.google.ca/maps/place/Walt+Disney+World+Resort/@28.3927173,-81.587284,13.74z/data=!4m5!3m4!1s0x88dd7ee634caa5f7:0xa71e391fd01cf1a0!8m2!3d28.385233!4d-81.563874

(A quick glance on Google reviews told me that the Disney Restaurants/Fast food places are average. Which is expected, I think, considering Disney probably wants to push out the least costly junk onto tourists of their parks).

I’ll  be sharing more about my planning, advice and other tidbits I find online right here, so stay tuned if you’re planning a Disney vacation, or just love Disney too!

 

Sources:

https://disneyworld.disney.go.com/en_CA/

https://www.disneytouristblog.com/101-disney-world-best-tips/

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Magic_Kingdom

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Walt_Disney_World

 

 

 

Leave a comment